About Us

The Anaesthetic Research Society (ARS) is run by the Council which comprises eleven elected members including the President, the Honorary Secretary and the Honorary Treasurer.

The ARS meetings welcome both members and non-members, sponsored by an existing member, to present oral (8 minutes duration) or poster communications describing original, unpublished research in anaesthesia or related disciplines. Presenters range from undergraduate and postgraduate students in medicine or biomedical sciences, to SpR anaesthetic trainees, consultants and academic scientists. There are two meetings per year (Spring and Winter) each over 2 days, which offer 8-10 CPD points for attendance. Everyone is welcome and these meetings provide the presenters with a friendly and interested audience capable of providing constructive feedback.

The first meeting of the ARS was held at the Research Department of Anaesthetics at the Royal College of Surgeons of England, on October 24th, 1958. The origins and early history of the society and details of the first meeting are recorded in this letter in the British Journal of Anaesthesia: BJA 1988; 61:639-41. The Society has evolved over recent years and now hosts the BJA Research Forums in partnership with the British Journal of Anaesthesia. The latest research and research proposals in Anaesthesia and its related specialities are presented and discussed. Recent BJA Research Forums have included themes such as BJA Scientific Symposia, Research Skills Workshops and themed meetings, such as Discovery Science & Experimental Medicine in Anaesthesia, Peri-op Medicine and Pain.

The ARS emblem is taken from the early use of Mandragora officinarum in anaesthetic practice.

The ARS Committee consists of the formal roles of President, Secretary and Treasurer, assisted by committee members. The Committee reflects the ARS membership with active members from clinical, laboratory-based and research backgrounds, representing the wide range of sub-specialities allied to Anaesthesia. The Committee is proud to represent our non-medical and student members. Committee members are typically co-opted for up to one year and then formally appointed at the AGM for up to three year terms, which may involve a vote if there are multiple candidates. Committee roles include planning and running our meetings, liaising with the College, external organisations and speakers, reviewing abstracts, presentations and applications, engaging the membership and ensuring that the Society discharges its duties in line with our charitable objectives. Committee roles are typically highly sought after and afford opportunities to shape the future of the Society and Anaesthesia Research. If you want to get involved, please email the Committee via the contacts page or speak to us at one of the meetings.

Become a Member

Join the ARS today to receive discounts on all future conference registration fees.